Hat Month

So I declared April 2009 as hat month around our house.

DSC_1906

And I must admit I went a little crazy!!

DSC_1913

I usually try to knit J at least 2 new hats a year but winter 2008-2009 came and went and I felt a little guilty so I thought I would get a jump on winter 2009-2010. And I even managed to turn out a couple for me.

DSC_1937

This is the 92 Crazed Daisy Hat, by Suzy Crancer and it pretty much is my favorite hat pattern ever. I used Noro Silk Garden as the variegated yarn and anything from Cascade 220 to Plymouth Galway for the solids. I love her for writing this pattern!! And even better, it is a free one.

DSC_1940

And of course I had to have an Inga Hat, by Shelia Mcdonald, another awesome designer of free patterns. I did this out of Blue Sky Alpacas Sport Weight and Melange.

DSC_1621

I made J his version of Inga a year ago out of Berroco Ultra Alpaca. I made mine a little smaller upon the advice of Hello Yarn and it worked out nicely. Thanks to her as well for the alteration advice on her blog.

DSC_1909

Poor J–he was trying to wolf down some dinner after mowing the grass and I was hurriedly trying hats on him and snapping photos. This beanie is made from Dark Horse Yarns Fantasy. It is made to fit under his bike helmet for winter biking. I needed something tight fitting that would not be bulky under his bike helmet and it needed to be out of a yarn that he could not ruin. In other words, if it got thrown in the wash with all his bike clothes and then into the dryer as well, it would not matter at all.

So there is still one more hat on the needles that needs to be finished—the Red Light Special. It is a much different color scheme that is much more, well, J.

Quote of the day: No amount of coffee, no amount of crying, no amount of whiskey, no amount of wine, no, no, no, no, no, nothing else will do
I’ve gotta have you, I’ve gotta have you.

-Gotta Have You, The Weepies

Leave a Reply

