Thoughts on Sewing

Well first let me say that sewing has not come nearly as natural to me as knitting did. It should because my paternal grandmother, who passed all her other domestic traits on to me, is a wonderful seamstress. I mean back in the day she made a few wedding dresses for people in my hometown. But sewing and I are having to grow on each other and some moments between us have not been pretty.

Lessons learned by me:

Item #1: I need to sew in the morning when I am fresh which really hinders me at times since I have a job that requires me to leave and go to an office around 7:30am.

Item #2: There are several young women around my age out there writing patterns for gals with no bust. I have conferred with other sewers and they assure me they are having the same problem and it is the pattern, not me. I will try not to list these said pattern writers as I am trying to be cordial but I cannot promise that I will not in future posts as one of them in particular has cost me a lot of money on fabric as I am trying to make a certain shirt from one of her patterns and now I just keep trying out of sheer spite and determination. I do love a good run on sentence, don’t you? Anyway, I should give up, write her off and move on to someone who realizes that most women have boobs and not the chest of a 12 year old boy.

Item #3: Using a nice inexpensive cotton muslin for the first go ’round of making a garment saves money. Hence, all the huffing and puffing from #2 that could have been avoided.

Item #4: They tell you to cut straight lines precisely when you are quilting for a reason. But it is my first quilt top and I am learning from this website and these books so I am cutting myself a little slack in that department. So without further bitching here it is:

DSC_2169

I used 2 Moda Charm Packs (can’t remember the name–sorry) from favorite local quilting store, Dragonfly, of course and then a nice cotton that I had stashed. I used the Triangle Tutorial from PurlBee. Thanks to all of you who helped make this quilt possible, whether you realized it or not!

The quilt top came out to be baby size. So as soon as my new walking foot arrives, I will tackle the binding and the backing. More to come.

Quote of the Day: Measure twice, cut once. ~Anonymous

Leave a Reply

